Mindfulness
The People Offline
Long Time Member Who grew Up Here

Threads: 1,021
Mindfulness
My PDoc has brought up the topic more and more carefully and less and less often but she is a strong believer in it.

I have fought against it for the duration of our time together (over 5 years) for a number of reasons, some of which are rather pathetic. They are as follows

- Fear of group settings for these types of things.
- Challenges to using workbooks/worksheets for reasons I don't understand. I am a writer and yet getting into stuff like that causes panic. I have bought workbooks in the past and they end up in charity boxes or given away. Maybe I can work on the whys of this with T.
- A former friend did it and it changed her life according to her. Frankly I don't like the person that she has changed into. Complete snob. Well, I think the snob is her guise because I know she has insecurities but she has ways of bringing attention to herself. I used to be jealous of the fuss people made over her when we lived up north together. She is actually a selfish b*tch. In case you haven't figured it out, this was the silly reason I have avoided it.

Have others done DBT and found it to be useful? I know some people do the tapping which is another form of mindfulness to my knowledge.

I found this on a DBT page and found it to be interesting. I think it is something I could use. I do find music to be a calming influence. I listen to all types and look forward to attending the symphony at the end of the month.